Special Deschutes Taps for July

Last evening, Saraveza Bottleshop & Pasty Tavern hosted a special evening with Deschutes Brewery with some refreshing seasonals to help beat the heat. Unfortunately, a Berliner-Weiss-style beer mentioned earlier on was not yet ready for drinking so was not on hand. Deschutes representatives Brian Saxton and Mike Foy said the brewers were not yet ready to release the beer until it had properly aged. Still, a few other quaff-worthy brews were pouring, including the Sagebrush Pilsner and the Miss Spelt Bavarian-style Hefeweizen. The Miss Spelt has been in Deschutes’ test market for a while now, and the brewery is currently gathering feedback from consumers to decide what changes, if any, need to be made before this beer joins Deschutes’ heralded bottle lineup. Following The Dissident Flanders-style ale and a previous 20th Anniversary Wit, this will be their third bottled Belgian-style ale when and if it is released. The prospect seems promising considering the beer is both quite drinkable and complex, with phenolic notes of clove and banana indicative of the style.

In other Deschutes news, we recently discovered the Portland pub’s calendar is set to tap a different Reserve Series beer everyday from Friday July 16 through the commencement of the Oregon Brewers Festival on Sunday July 25. And, yes, we’ve got the list. It reads as follows:

Friday, July 16th     Sinfully Delicious DSA
Saturday, July 17     The Dissident ’08
Sunday, July 18     Mirror Mirror ’09
Monday, July 19     Black Butte XXI
Tuesday, July 20     Frosty the Snow Quad
Wednesday, July 21     Quadsimoto
Thursday, July 22     Jubel 2010
Friday, July 23     The Abyss ’09
Saturday, July 24     St. Ryan
Sunday, July 25     Black Butte XXII

As for the Berliner-Weiss-style brew, we’ll be keeping our eyes peeled for that one. See you at Deschutes!

One Comment

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *