Portland Cheers To Belgian Beers Dart Throw

The 4 Bens of the Apocalypse at the PCTBB dart throw (Lucky Lab's Ben Flerchinger [left], Hopworks' Ben Love [center bottom], Breakside's Ben Edmunds [center top], and Widmer's Ben Dobler [right])

Another fun night at the Horse Brass Pub in Portland on Tuesday January 11 featured a special event organized by the Oregon Brewers Guild. Many local brewers and well-known industry folks were on hand to partake in the fun. Representatives from each brewery threw a dart to decide what beer style would be made by their brewery for the 5th Annual PCTBB scheduled for April 30, 2011. A high number dictated that a strong beer would be brewed. Similarly a low number meant a lower ABV offering.  Darts landing in black portions of the board meant that a dark beer would be brewed while red hits say the brewery will produce a lighter colored brew (Check in at the Oregon Brewers Guild website for details on what categories each brewery is prepared to concoct).

Double Mountain co-founder Charlie Devereux (left) and Oakshire Brewmaster Matt Van Wyk

The Portland Cheers to Belgian Beers people’s choice in 2010 was awarded to Block 15 Brewing of Corvallis for their La Ferme De Demons ale. Block 15’s Nick Arzner (read our review from last year’s PCTBB here) selected Wyeast 3787 Trappist High Gravity,  described as “a classic strain selection for brewing Belgian dubbel or Belgian tripel. This Abbey strain produces a nice balance of complex fruity esters and phenolics, making it desirable for use in other Belgian style ales as well. A flocculent, true top cropping yeast (additional headspace is recommended), that will work over a broad temperature range.” Other details about this yeast strain are as follows:

Flocculation: Medium; Attenuation: 74-78%; Temperature Range: 64-78F, 18-25C; Alcohol Tolerance: 11 to 12% ABV or higher.

(right to left) Lucky Lab's Ben Flerchinger, Van Havig, and Oregon Brewers Guild's Brian Butenschoen

PCTBBThe Tuesday dart throw was hosted by Lucky Lab brewer Ben Flerchinger and former Rock Bottom brewer Van Havig. Other notable brewery folks involved in the event included Hopworks brewers Ben Love and Jaime Rodriguez, Pyramid/MacTarnahan’s brewers Vasilios Gletsos and Ryan Pappe, Laurelwood brewer Nick Phelps, Oakshire brewer Matt Van Wyk, Lucky Lab brewer Casey Lyons, Burnside brewer Jason McAdam, McMenamins Crystal Ballroom brewer Jeff Cooley, Migration brewer Michael Branes, Widmer founder Rob Widmer and brewer Ben Dobler, Breakside and Upright brewer Ben Edmunds, Cascade GM Preston Weesner, New Old Lompoc brewer Zach Beckwith, Double Mountain co-founder Charlie Devereux, and Rock Bottom brewer Bolt Minister. Many local beer media were in attendance as well. This included The Oregonian’s John Foyston, The Beer Goddess Lisa Morrison, and The New School’s Ritch Marvin. On top of that it was a lot of fun to see so many talented homebrewers and beer enthusiasts out at the Brass as well. The PCTBB dart throw was a prime example of our city’s love for great beer and sense of camaraderie.

Pyramid/MacTarnahan's brewer Vasilios Gletsos (left) and Hopworks brewer Jaime Rodriguez at 2011 PCTBB dart throw

Since PCTBB’s People’s Choice 2010 winner, Block 15 is not located in Portland, the event will be held at Metalcraft Fabrication

723 N Tillamook St. in Portland, Oregon

Saturday April 30th


More details can be found soon at the Oregon Brewers Guild site.