Women Brewers Lead the Way in 2017 Glen Hay Falconer Foundation Siebel Brewing Scholarships


From an outstanding group of talented applicants, Alyson Hartwig of Dry Dock Brewing (Aurora, CO) and Nina Schoofs of Falling Sky Brewing (Eugene, OR) have been named recipients of the 2017 Glen Hay Falconer Foundation Siebel Brewing Scholarships.  Our scholarship program encompasses over half of the United States geography and the scholarships drew candidates from throughout that region.

Alyson Hartwig will be enrolled in the World Brewing Academy (WBA) International Diploma in Brewing Technology course running from August to November at Siebel’s Chicago and Munich campuses.  The International Diploma course is a 12-week comprehensive program intended for brewers seeking an in-depth understanding of the technical aspects and practical application of brewing science and technology.  Alyson is currently a brewer at Dry Dock Brewing and previously was a brewer at Pikes Peak Brewing and intern brewer at Goose Island Beer.  The Selection Committee was impressed by Alyson’s “commitment to her craft, her constantly seeking out ways to further her education inside the brewery and outside with formal classroom work.”  “Alyson is one of those who strives to be a master of her craft while taking personal responsibility to mentor and teach others.  She has long been dedicated to connecting with the entire value chain from the agricultural growers at the front end to the end user consumer and always shares her positive energy and enthusiasm.”

Nina Schoofs will be enrolled in the WBA Concise Course in Brewing Technology that takes place this October in Chicago.  The Concise Course in Brewing Technology is a two-week intensive program that covers every topic critical to successful brewery operations.  A lifetime homebrewer, Nina has risen quickly in the front of house to General Manager of the Falling Sky’s brew pub and has recently taken that level of dedication and enthusiasm to the brewhouse where she had moved into cellar operations.  The Selection Committee cited Nina’s passion and creativity, saying “Nina has the gift of artistry which will be strengthened by mastering the technical aspects of brewing and the Siebel education provides that perfect platform.”  The Selection Committee also noted that “Nina has demonstrated a steadfast commitment to her broader community in every aspect of her life.  What this scholarship will give her will be returned many fold over the years as she shares her knowledge and expertise with others.”

The Foundation thanks the incredible Selection Committee for its dedication and energy.  The 2017 Committee consisted of Tom Dalldorf of Celebrator Beer News, Jamie Floyd of Ninkasi Brewing Company, John Hannafan of Siebel Institute, Ralph Olson of RNV Enterprises, John Maier of Rogue Ales, Chris Studach of Cascade Brewers Society, and Jesse Umbarger of Yakima Chief-Hopunion.

The Foundation expresses its deep gratitude to the Siebel Institute for its collaboration and long-time support for the Foundation’s brewing scholarship program.  This year marked our fourteenth year of collaboration with the Siebel Institute of Technology.  For information on the Siebel Institute, visit www.siebelinstitute.com.

A special thanks to Yakima Chief-Hopunion whose spectacularly successful Falconer’s Flight® initiative not only has vastly spread the word about brewing education but also provided the necessary financial support to underwrite the expansion of our brewing scholarship program to include the International Diploma course.

To date, the Foundation has granted a total of 38 brewing education scholarships and currently offers three scholarships annually.  For more information on the Glen Hay Falconer Foundation, our brewing scholarship program, and related activities, visit www.glenfalconerfoundation.org and follow us on Facebook.